(Super Mario) Diego’s 3up Birthday celebration

How to prepare for a birthday party for kids?

Here are some ideas how I achieved a birthday celebration for Diego’s 3rd birthday, on a budget.

Before we come up with Super Mario theme party, we had a long list of his favorites. Super Mario got shortlisted from Oddbods, angry birds, crayola, sago mini and a lot more.  It is important to identify your childs favorite so you would know where to start and for your child you are a super star.

TIME:  You can start searching for kids party ideas from #pinterest. I think that’s the best avenue to create your mood board. I got most of my ideas from pinterest. 

As soon as we pegged super Mario as the theme, I started collecting few things from hardware, bookstore and supermarket for things that would fit in the theme. For the super Mario theme, anything in red and green. 

I got this tissue paper and moustache topper for 30 pesos from a baking store. I used the moustache topper as a straw ornament. The table napkin are just gorge, isn’t it? 

These are local Goya bits I found in the supermarket. To mario-size it, I put stickers which I had printed out.

These are part of the loot bags, its egg shaped chocolate candy and called it yoshi eggs. 

These are some of my left over boxes for cupcakes where I put letters from a rubberized alphabet puzzle mat. Its the same rubberized mat that spells out HAPPY BIRTHDAY, as part of my back drop.

My  Toad pops {Mallow pops} holder is made of plastic gardening pot, then placed a styrofoam ball I cut in half. I glued in cupcake liners showing the colored part. For the pipe stand, these are cylinder chip containers I cut, glued and painted, to replicate PVC pipes.

We celebrated Diegos birthday a day after his birthday, so on the day i made these super Mario cupcakes, for him to blow, on the day of his birthday and a cake to blow on his party. ( below)

I had these hats made by a crafter friend, isn’t she Genius?

A minute made tetra pack juice and put super Mario stickers to personalize it.

Power star And toadstool sugar cookies which I  baked.

The food:

Super Mario and Luigi’s characters are Italian nationals. So, we served Italian spaghetti

Fried Chicken lollipop soaked in buttermilk with ranch sauce

Pizza cups

For dessert:

Oreo mousse cups

Cupcake tower has red and green cupcakes, I made red velvet and matcha cupcakes with creamcheese frosting. 

Favors

I drew (?)’s on yellow boxes and put golden coins and brown boxes I drew on bricks. 

Ctto pinterest

this is my version

I have forgotten to take photos of other details since I was toggling between cooking and decorating. Thank yo my brother, who’s always ready to take photos

 Decor

photo not mine from pinterest

Now my version of the toad stool.

Activities

I set up an activity desk, where the kids can enjoy a Coloring station, I printed out super Mario coloring book pages and had some crayons set up. 

Then we had a yoshi egg hunt. I scattered these “yoshi eggs” around the house with a surprise inside the eggs.

There was also cupcake decorating station prepared but everyone was busy watching the ladies volleyball finals of Ateneo and DLSU. That saved a lot from entertainment. 

I doesn’t take big bucks to throw a special theme party for your kids. Just a little resourcefulness and creativity and viola!!! Diego felt it was special. Tomas is excited on his monster truck party on July. We were  grateful the kids enjoyed and I was humbled that the guests appreciated the effort I put in Diegos 3up party. 

Leave a Reply

